EPA Publishes Final CSAPR Group 3 Rule In The Federal Register

On April 30, 2021, just one day prior to the 2021 ozone season, EPA published the final 40 CFR Part 97, Subpart GGGGG, CSAPR NOx Ozone Season Group 3 Trading Program in the Federal Register. The CSAPR Group 3 rule requires additional NOx reductions from power plants located in twelve (12) states beginning with the 2021 ozone season. The twelve (12) affected States are Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia. The new Group 3 Trading Program is in addition to the existing Groups 1 and 2 NOx Ozone Trading Programs. The rulemaking also includes minor technical/administrative changes to the other CSAPR subparts.

Subpart GGGGG defines distinct Group 3 NOx ozone season State budgets for 2021, 2022, 2023 and “2024 and Beyond.” In general, one sees a reduction in the State budgets each year until the State budgets become fixed for the 2024 and Beyond ozone seasons. For example, reference the Group 3 State Budgets for the 2021 ozone season compared to the State budgets for 2024 and Beyond, as listed in the rule [FR-Vol. 86-No. 82, pages 23123-23124].

EPA also finalized Federal Implementation Implementation Plans (FIPs) for 22 states to address interstate transport of ozone pollution under the Clean Air Act’s “good neighbor” provisions. The final rule becomes effective on June 29, 2021. A copy of the Federal Register publication is available here.