EPA Publishes Cross-State Air Pollution Rule Revisions In Federal Register

EPA Seal

On October 30, 2020, EPA published proposed revisions to the Cross-State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) Update Rule in the Federal Register. The rule revisions are designed to replace the CSAPR Update Rule that was remanded by the US Court of Appeals on September 13, 2019.

The proposed rule introduces Subpart GGGGG to 40 CFR Part 97, which would establish a new CSAPR NOx Ozone Season Group 3 Trading Program and would require additional NOx reductions from power plants located in 12 states (Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia) beginning with the 2021 ozone season.

EPA also proposes to allow NOx SIP Call affected states that would be subject to Subpart GGGGG to revise their SIP to include non-EGUs. Additionally, the proposed rule introduces minor revisions to the other CSAPR subparts.

Comments on the proposed rule must be received on or before December 14, 2020.  A copy of the proposed rule can be found here.